ORIGNIX Cyber Operations and Maintenance framework is a market differentiator and our crown jewel methodology. The framework maps the ISA/IEC 62443 cybersecurity lifecycle with the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) best practices in managing security and changes to network-capable devices within Industrial Automation and Control Systems.

The industry-first Cyber Operations and Maintenance Framework operates as the day-to-day beating heart of the ISA/IEC 62443 IACS cybersecurity lifecycle. It addresses the daily challenges in a structured and systematic way under well-defined Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) key capabilities.


The CyberPRA project is delivered through a six-phase approach:

Phase 1: Prepare. Assessment of the project objectives, review of current architecture design, configuration information, HAZOP, PHA, and risk matrix.

Phase 2: Assess. On-site vulnerability assessment (cyberVAS).

Phase 3: Analyze. Off-site cyberGEP assessment, threat and vulnerabilities analysis.

Phase 4: CollaborateCollaborative on-site sessions:

  • cyberHAZOP – Evaluation of threats, consequences, countermeasures, and discussion of recommendations.
  • cyberLOPA – Evaluation of high consequence incident scenarios. Order of magnitude estimation of cause frequency, loss event, and safeguards.

Phase 5: Report. Development of executive summary and detailed report. Presentation of the prioritized list of risks and actions.

Phase 6: Mitigate. Development of requirements specifications. Risk reduction planning and execution.

Cyber Operations and Maintenance System Integration

The Cyber Operations and Maintenance project consists of seven phases that are repeated for each of the Cyber Operations and Maintenance processes.

Phase 1: Prepare. Assessment of project objectives. Review of existing cybersecurity, ICS/OT documentation.

Phase 2: Assess. In-depth assessment of existing processes.

Phase 3: Analyze. Off-site analysis to identify integration points between existing and new processes.

Phase 4: Collaborate. Collaborative on-site integration session to review existing processes, proposed process solutions, and determine use-cases.

Phase 5: Customize. Off-site analysis of the feedback received from all stakeholders to re-evaluate integration and customization updates to cyber operations and maintenance system and the integration with other cyber processes.

Phase 6: Review. On-site walk through of use-cases by select client team members and agreement on Key Performance Indicators (KPIs).

Phase 7:  Commission. Present executive summary to client leadership, process orientation and training. Handover detailed process documentation.

Cyber Countermeasures/Remediation Services Delivery

Project delivery is achieved through eight phases.

Phase 1: Plan. Perform detailed stakeholder analysis and develop a project plan.

Phase 2: Define. Define solution objectives tailored to business requirements. Develop Technical Cybersecurity Requirements Specifications (CSRS) that include operating and sustainment requirements.

Phase 3: Architect. Development of cybersecurity solution architecture and validation against defined requirements.

Phase 4: Design. Development of detailed cybersecurity designs to include computing and networked devices. Establish design specifications and validate the design against defined requirements.

Phase 5: Build. Build a cybersecurity solution with associated controls. Perform Cyber Factory Acceptance Testing (CyberFAT) to validate the solution against the defined requirements.

Phase 6: Commission. Perform IT Change Management and Engineering/Plant Management of Change. Implementation of cyber countermeasures followed by Cyber Site Integration Testing (CyberSIT) and Cyber Site Acceptance Testing (CyberSAT).

Phase 7: Operate. Provide as-built detailed documentation and initiate Operations/Sustainment.